Jump directly to the content

Fourth of July

The Fourth of July, also known as Independence Day, is celebrated every year in the US on July 4. The holiday is celebrated to mark the day the Second Continental Congress adopted the Declaration of Independence. The day was not made a federal holiday until 1870. Many Americans celebrate with picnics and fireworks.